Board / Commissioner

About the Board

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) was created by the Texas Legislature in 1965 to represent the highest authority in the state in matters of public higher education. Then-Governor John Connally's charge to the THECB still applies today:

“The greatest risk you face is an institutionalized system, with each college or university grasping for its own ends without regard to the needs of the people of the whole state, and perhaps without being aware of those needs. But over the years in Texas we have come to regard each college or university as a separate institution, striving independently for success. In many cases regarded locally as a boon to the economy, it struggles to be all things to all people, willing to do almost anything that will assure its getting larger---larger in enrollment, larger in buildings, larger in number and level of degrees offered, larger in number of graduates, larger in number of alumni. And it remains in constant danger of mediocrity…” [Full Charge PDF]

The THECB's Mission, Vision, Philosophy, Core Values, and Key Functions can be found at: Agency Mission, Vision, Philosophy, Core Values, & Key Functions


The Commissioner of Higher Education is appointed by the Board and serves as the CEO of the agency.

Commissioner of Higher Education Harrison Keller Harrison Keller
Commissioner of Higher Education


The Board

The Board is comprised of nine members appointed by the Governor for six-year staggered terms and one non-voting student representative who serves for a one year term. The Governor also appoints the chair and vice-chair. The Board meets quarterly in Austin and all meetings are broadcast live on the Internet.

The Board operates under these publicly adopted policies and procedures: Board Operating Policies and Procedures [PDF].

Board members also serve on one or more standing committees which meet quarterly. Committee membership information can be found at: THECB Standing Committee Membership.

Information relating to the appointment of a non-voting student representative on the Board can found at: Non-voting Student Representative on Coordinating Board.

Contacting the Board

Messages may be sent to the Board or individual Board Members via email at; via USPS c/o THECB, PO Box 12788, Austin, TX 78711; phone (512) 427-6566, or fax at (512) 427-6127.

Board Members

Board Member Fred Farias, III Fred Farias III, O.D.
Term Expires: August 31, 2025
Board Member Donna N. Williams Donna N. Williams
Term Expires: August 31, 2023
Board Member S. Javaid Anwar
S. Javaid Anwar
Secretary of the Board
Term Expires: August 31, 2021*
Board Member Richard L. Clemme Richard L. Clemmer
Term Expires: August 31, 2023
Board Member Robert P. Gauntt Robert P. Gauntt
Term Expires: August 31, 2027
Board Member Emma W. Schwartz Emma W. Schwartz
Term Expires: August 31, 2025
Board Member R. Sam Torn R. Sam Torn
Term Expires: August 31, 2025
Board Member Welcome W. Wilson, Jr. Welcome W. Wilson, Jr.
Term Expires: August 31, 2023
Wong Daniel O. Wong
Term Expires: August 31, 2027
Student Member Georgia Blackwell Georgia A. Blackwell
Student Representative
Term Expires: May 31, 2023

*Members continue serving on the Board until the governor appoints their replacement