Family Practice Residency Program Advisory Committee

The Family Practice Residency Advisory Committee (FPRAC) consists of 12 members and is charged with making funding recommendations to the Board for the Family Practice Residency Program (FPRP) and related support programs. The Committee and FPRP were established in 1977 by the Texas Legislature. The intent of the program is to increase the numbers of physicians selecting family practice as their medical specialty and to encourage those physicians to establish their practices in rural and underserved communities in Texas.

Established: 1977

Current Status: Standing, Statutory

Meeting Schedule: Meets 1-2 times per year.

FPRAC MembersMembership includes representatives from the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association, Association of Directors of Family Practice Programs, Texas Medical Association, Texas Hospital Association, Texas Academy of Family Physicians and members of the public appointed by the governor. Members serve three-year terms with the possibility of reappointment.

Upcoming and Recent Meetings

  • Late Spring 2022

Summary Notes:

Inquiries should be directed or