

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Levi D. McClenny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site:

http://www.highered.texas.gov

January 14, 2021

Dr. Sandra Woodley, President The University of Texas of the Permian Basin 4901 East University Odessa, TX 79762

RE: A Compliance Monitoring Follow Up Review of the Nursing Shortage Reduction Program at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

Dear Dr. Woodley:

The University of Texas of the Permian Basin implemented the recommendations in our prior report, *A Compliance Monitoring Audit of the Nursing Shortage Reduction Program at The University of Texas of the Permian Basin* (THECB-CM-FA-19-020), which was issued in November 2019.

Management implemented the recommendations by:

- Revising policies and separating awards under the Nursing Shortage Reduction Program by award type, NSRP program, and by year in order to comply with Texas Administrative Code §22.508 and with program requirements and standards;
- Refunding \$1,671.75 in reported Nursing Shortage Reduction Program travel expenditures to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; and
- Revising practices and properly allocating travel expenses charged in whole
 or in part to an externally funded project to comply with the University of
 Texas of the Permian Basin Travel Policy requirements.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark. A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Wark A. Poehl

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Elizabeth M. Steele, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff

Ms. Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner, Data Analytics and Innovation

Mr. Ray Martinez, Deputy Commissioner, Academic Affairs and Workforce Education

Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Ms. Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

Dr. Daniel Heimmermann, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ms. Donna Beuk, Dean, College of Health Sciences and Human Performance

Mr. Glenn Spencer, Chief Audit Executive

The University of Texas System

Mr. Kevin P. Eltife, Chairman, Board of Regents

Mr. James B. Milliken, Chancellor

Mr. J. Michael Peppers, Chief Audit Executive, System Audit Office

Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors

Dr. Rissa McGuire, Executive Director

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Director of Budget and Policy

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director