Field of Study Advisory Committees

Texas Transfer Advisory Committee and Legacy Field of Study Advisory Committees

In March 2021, the Board adopted new rules to transform how the agency supports transfer policy tools, including the Field of Study Curricula. As part of this change, the Board repealed rules establishing the legacy field of study advisory committees, replacing that system with the Texas Transfer Advisory Committee structure. The new governance structure offers an expanded opportunity for faculty experts to develop discipline-specific statewide curricula through the Discipline-Specific Subcommittees. 

The Texas Education Code, Section 61.823, directs the Board to develop field of study (FOS) curricula for various academic programs. 

Board-Approved Field of Study Curricula

The Board establishes a separate FOS Advisory Committee for each FOS curriculum, consisting of up to 24 members drawn equally from two-year and four-year public institutions. FOS Advisory Committees will periodically review each existing FOS to ensure alignment with advances in the discipline, student interests, and workforce needs.

Charge: Each FOS Advisory Committee is charged to identify, for its discipline, the block of courses that may be transferred to a general academic teaching institution. The courses in an FOS must be substituted for that institution's lower-division requirements for the degree program into which a student transfers, and the student must receive full academic credit toward the degree program. Texas Administrative Code rules relating to FOS can be found at  Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 4, Subchapter B, Rule 4.32