

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Levi D. McClenny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov August 10, 2020

Dr. Denise M. Trauth, President Texas State University 601 University Drive San Marcos, TX 78666

Dear Dr. Trauth,

I am attaching the final report on *A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of the TEXAS Grant at Texas State University,* Report No. THECB-CM-FA-20-029. There were no findings resulting from this engagement.

Texas State University complied with relevant Coordinating Board (THECB) rules and regulations for the Towards Excellence, Access, and Success (TEXAS) Grant and with Chapter 19, Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §22.225-22.239.

Summary

Our desk review included tests of relevant financial data reported and certified by Texas State University for award year 2018-2019. We believe the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for the findings and recommendations, if any, based on the desk review objectives.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Students met all eligibility criteria, including SAP requirements;
- Students demonstrated financial need;
- Students fulfilled residency requirements;
- Applicable students registered with the selective service system; and
- Reported award amounts reconciled with Texas State University's student data system and payment records.

This Compliance Monitoring report will be presented to the THECB Committee on Agency Operations, a standing committee of the THECB Board, in October 2020.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this engagement, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Elizabeth M. Steele, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

- Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education
- Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff
- Mr. William Franz, General Counsel
- Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel
- Mr. Ken Martin, Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services & Chief Financial Officer

Student Financial Aid Programs

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Deputy Assistant Commissioner

Texas State University

- Dr. Eugene J. Bourgeois, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
- Mr. Gary T. Ray, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management and Marketing
- Dr. Christopher Murr, Director, Financial Aid and Scholarships
- Mr. Steve McGee, Director, Office of Internal Audit
- Ms. Dede Gonzales, Associate Director, Financial Aid and Scholarships
- Mr. Martin Mills, Enterprise Systems

Texas State University System

- Mr. William F. Scott, Chair, Board of Regents
- Dr. Brian McCall, Chancellor
- Ms. Carole Fox, Chief Audit Executive

Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors

Dr. Rissa McGuire, Executive Director

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director